Welcome to the Gratitude Café


Who does not love this man?


I keep my life on a heavy rotation
Requesting that it’s lifting you up
Up up and away
And over to a table at the Gratitude Café”

This is seriously one of my favorite Jason Mraz songs. I remember being at his concert with my sister, at the Hollywood Bowl. He went on this tangent, in between songs, and he started talking about the Gratitude Café. I was so excited, when I found out that this was a real place. I decided then, that I would eventually make a trip up North and stop by. After all, a place that inspirational deserves to be visited. 

As usually happens, to Americans, life gets in the way. I never quite made it up there; however, destiny did not let me escape this place. A location opened in Venice Beach. I just so happened to become vegan during that time- Even more of a reason to go. 

I like to think of it as a vegan/raw fusion restaurant. Walking into the Venice location, you are immediately confronted with a zen-life place. No joke, it makes me want some dreads. Their menu has items called:
  • Happy
  • Fulfilled
  • Dazzling
  • Humble
  • Terrific
Then, when they bring it to you they say “You are _____”. Affirmations! it makes me want to come here everyday. 

Anyway, there is always a question of the day. Now I know in L.A. we’re all too busy to deal with such nonsense. So, they actually ask you if you want to hear the question of the day. Please, please, please say yes. 

I brought my friend here, and I could tell that he wasn’t into the question of the day idea; however, I agreed to hear it. As we sat there talking, we eventually hit one of those long pauses. So I blurted out the question. “So, what are you proud of?” This sparked one of the deepest conversations that I’ve ever had with him.

Most important is the food. The food always tastes fresh. As most vegan/raw cuisine is, it tends to be a little bit more pricey; however, I think it’s worth it. I haven’t had anything that I didn’t like. 

You must try the desserts though.



Yesterday, I was … Happy. 
512 Rose Ave
Venice, CA 90291
Phone: 424.231.8000
Hours: 8 am to 10 pm

One thought on “Welcome to the Gratitude Café

Leave a Reply

