Serendipity

I’ve always been a sweets junkie. I like to think that it’s one of the ways in which I have managed to maintain my youth. Since Las Vegas is rather close to Los Angeles, we took many trips to Las Vegas during long weekends. Obviously, there’s not much for children to do in Sin City besides run around the pool.

Well, one of my favorite places to go then and now is Serendipity 3. The venue itself is so whimsical and fun. You can’t help but feel like you’ve fallen down the rabbit hole and are on your own adventure in Wonderland. To this day I try to make a stop at Serendipity whenever I’m in Las Vegas. (They have an excellent vegan burger)

My mother’s side of the family all live in New York. As many times as I’ve been to New York I had never been to the Serendipity 3 location there. It wasn’t until this last time that I went that I made it a goal to stop in. My cousin and I stopped by one evening and there was a 2 HOUR WAIT!!! We ended up heading home; however, we came back. The night before I was set to depart, he surprised me by taking me there. It was 10:45 pm and we still had to wait for 1 hour. Luckily, there are so many trinkets and decorations to look at. I was entertained for the entire hour. Unlike the Las Vegas location, the New York location is 2 stories. There is much more seating at this location.

We sat at a table near the balcony on the second floor. We decided to each order one treat, since we’d waited so long. I ordered the Fresh Fruit Sundae and my cousin ordered the Pecan Pie. In Las Vegas I usually order the Red Velvet Cake Sundae (YUM !!!) I bought my sister a packet of their famous frozen hot chocolate. My cousin got both me and my sister a T-shirt, which I still wear.

I have to be 100% honest with you. If you are not a fan of sugar this is NOT the place for you. Both of our desserts were so rich and decadent. I had enough sugar to satiate my cravings for a week. This is the perfect place to go with your children or with your girlfriends.

Bucket List: Try the Golden Opulence Sundae $1,000 (pre-order 48 hours in advance) it has caviar and gold flakes.

225 East 60th Street
between 2nd and 3rd Avenues
New York, NY 10022
Leave a Reply

