Voodoo Doughnut

“The Magic is in the hole”

I love my vegan-ism. I enjoy my vegan and raw treats, but lets keep it real – “REAL” desserts taste so much better.
Anyway, Pre-vegan me enjoyed many- too many?- treats. My friend “Rubi’s” sister goes to college in Portland. Of course, I had to ask her to bring me some yummylicious doughnuts from Voodoo Doughnuts. 
Voodoo Doughnuts is run by Cat Daddy & Tres (so cool already) Who learned to make doughnuts in none other than our neighbor, Pico Rivera, California. Unfortunately, for me, they took their delicious morsels to Portland.
I only got to try one, but I did get to see the whole batch. Choosing which one to take for myself was so difficult (ah, important life choices). I went back and forth between the triple chocolate penetration (aka coco puff) doughnut, the loop doughnut, and Marshall Mathers Doughnut. My friend chose the Voodoo Doll doughnut. She loved it – not too mention it’s adorable.  I eventually settled on the The Loop Doughnut (Pictured below). This is probably a 4 serving doughnut for a normal person; not for me though! It was crunchy, sweet, and fluffy all at once. It was amazing, considering it had been flown in.
I’ve never physically been to this place, but I’ve been told that you have to get here early, because the traffic that goes through this venue daily is insane. It’s so famous, that people even get married here. They make custom orders. If you’re a food network junkie, like myself, then you know they’ve been on almost every show on there. They do have vegan doughnuts (YAY !!!). 
– Fruit cakes (mostly banana but sometimes applesauce or pumpkin) topped with either maple frosting, chocolate frosting, toasted coconut, flake coconut, peanuts, Oreo’s, Chico stick, powdered sugar, cinnamon sugar or sprinkles. 
– Chocolate cakes
– Diablos Rex, Neapolitan, chocolate frosting, Triple chocolate penetration.
– Raised yeast doughnuts the same as regular.
Anyway, if you find yourself in Portland or track down someone who is passing through Portland, you absolutely have to request that they bring you a doughnut or 12.
22 SW 3rd Avenue Portland Oregon, U.S.A.
phone 503.241.4704

OPEN 24 hours 7days a week, closed Thanksgiving Day,
Christmas Day & New Years Day, Cash only, ATMs available

Leave a Reply

