The Green Hut

I was running a search for nearby Vegan Restaurants on yelp (free advertising) and this place popped up. This Cafe is in the heart of downtown Los Angeles. It’s not exclusively vegan, but they have a nice little vegan menu.

The venue itself is small; however, there is ample seating. It has a very mellow low key vibe. It never appears to be too busy, which is a plus for me. I hate waiting forever for my food during lunchtime. Anyway, you can also call in your order for pick up.The building itself might have a parking lot- most likely- but I’m sure you’ll have to pay up the wahoo for it. Your best bet is street parking or those parking lots scattered around.

The first couple of times I came in here, I order the Green Curry “Vegan Chicken” Bowl. It is served with ginger brown rice. I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before and I’m sure I’ll say it many times after this, I do NOT like saucy food. I’m not a fan of my food being drowned in sauce especially creamy type sauces. Anyway, This dish is not like that. It’s nice because it keeps the rice nice and not soggy. I’m also not big on rice; however, their rice is very tasty. I ate all of it (argh!)

This last time I had the very berry salad (pictured below): mixed greens, fresh strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, dried cranberries, grapes, apples, cucumbers, and candied walnuts, with a pomegranate whole grain mustard vinaigrette (i got it on the side), and crumbled blue cheese (no cheese for me please). It looked amazing with bright colors and supple fruit. I liked the dressing, granted i used less than a teaspoon of it. I would definitely order this again.

My Co-worker ordered the Mexican Style Burrito (Chicken/Steak): on a spinach tortilla with trio cheese, avocados, Spanish rice, black beans, onions, and cilantro. She got it with mild sauce, but you can order it with spicy sauce. I wish I would’ve gotten a picture of hears, but she ate hers way later and I didn’t want to be weird and open her food.

I always get an iced tea. The pomegranate iced tea is nice and tangy. Keep in mind that it is “Naturally Sweetened” whatever that means – I really should ask next time.

PLUS SIDE: I got a free cookie/cupcake with my yelp check in. They only had cooked – so i got a chocolate chip walnut cookie. It’s a pretty big cookie with lots of chocolate chips and walnuts. It’s also nice and warm.

Anyway, check it out if you get a chance. Let me know what you think.

Green Hut Cafe
808 West 7th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90017

Mon-Fri 10 – 10 pm
Sat-Sun Closed

Leave a Reply

