Fatburger: The Last Great Hamburger Stand

Here’s a little something for my vegetarian friends. FATBURGER (fodogasm)

First and foremost I have to say that I have eaten at a Fatburger once in my life. My sister on the other hand, has been raving about their veggie burger for years. She even completed the challenge once and, at the time, was the only one to do so with a veggie burger.

I was lucky enough to score tickets to the LA Galaxy v. Montreal Impact game. Being vegan, I have learned that the best approach for me is to always inspect menus before I head out to a location. This way, I can decide if I should eat something ahead of time to fill up (in case all I can have is chips and salsa) or if I can work within the menu to veganize an already existing dish. I went on the StubHub Center website to investigate. Lucky for me I found a Fiesta Bowl, Burrito, Fries, Sweet Potato Fries, and a Veggie Burger. All possible options (depending on the patty). My sister and I decided we would just wait and have dinner there.

After battling our way through rush hour L.A. traffic we finally made it to the stadium. The hunt began. We went to every concession stand only to find that the veggie burger had been discontinued *____*

It’s ok, there’s still the fiesta bowl or burrito. NOPE … Fiesta Bowl = lettuce, chicken/steak, cheese, sour cream, pico de gallo, rice, pinto beans (non-vegetarian). Sorry I refuse to pay $11 (I made up my own price) for a bowl with lettuce, rice, and pico de gallo. Adding a tortilla around it to make it a burrito hardly justifies the price either. My sister opted to have an order of fries in solidarity to my needs. Fries and beer (there goes my workout). It was enough to hold me over and the Galaxy won btw !

Post-victory meal —> FATBURGER.

The venue was very nice and clean, it looks like a burger stand (diner style). It is located inside a shopping center, so there was ample parking.

The cashier  was so nice. She made conversation with us and was so sweet. She efficiently took our order and read it back perfectly. Unfortunately the kitchen wasn’t as keen with our customizations. I was ready to devour my burger, when I noticed my top bun, and lettuce, swimming in a thick glop of mayo (gag!) Note: I hate mayo; I hate veganaise. Icky icky! If I were a lot pickier I might have thrown a bit of a fit at that point, because I was ravenous; however, I remedied it by taking off the top bun and anything that had mayo on it. Other than this, it was a great meal.

Veggie Burger (not a vegan patty guys) comes with lettuce, cheese, tomato, onion, pickles, mayo, ketchup, mustard on a whole wheat bun.

Vegan Burger ( my own creation) : whole wheat bun, lettuce, tomato, grilled onions, yellow peppers, pickles, ketchup, mustard, guacamole.

Wash it down with an ice cold beer (like my sister did) or some a diet coke (as I did).

It was very delicous. Keep in mind, you can also add jalapeños and grilled mushrooms

Leave a Reply

