Sage Vegan Bistro

I’m not going to lie this has to be my ABSOLUTE favorite vegan restaurant. I used to go to the original location before, but it was rare. Let’s face it, going from West LA to Silver Lake/Echo Park is a 3 day trek in Los Angeles.

I don’t think that I’ve mentioned this, but I’ve been training or a marathon. Seemed like a great idea when I was a bystander with my hot chocolate in hand cheering the runners on last year. Honestly, I didn’t realize that it was such a gargantuan commitment. My whole lifestyle has changed. No more drinking (none), no more sweets, early bed time, even earlier workouts.

Anyway, I digress. So, this Saturday we had a nice little 16 mile run. The whole time I was running I went in an out of awareness. “keep running…breathe….drink…goo…pancakes, no pizza…ugh breathe…definitely pancakes…pizza….pancakes with maple syrup…pancakes….my feet hurt….it’s hot…the beach is so pretty….pancakes.”

Of course, I finish my run and decide that I’m going to get my well deserved reward – BBQ Tofu Steak. I called Sage to place my order and waited the agonizing 20  minutes to go pick up my food. Honestly, waiting  for food feels so much longer after running.

I bring it home and am delighted to find two pieces of tofu steak (sans sauce) delicately laid over a bed of quinoa, black beans, corn, and tortilla strips. I asked for the BBQ sauce and the chipotle cream on the side. This was the perfect post run meal. Ordinarily I would say this portion is too large and enough for two servings, but not today.

As far as vegan cuisine goes, this is one of those places that I would be willing to take an “equal opportunity” foodie too. The food is delicious regardless of the lack of animal products.

Where do you like to eat after a hard workout?

4130 Sepulveda Blvd, Culver City, CA 90230
(424) 228-5835

Leave a Reply

