Cilantro

I used to be so spoiled working in the heart of downtown. Food was plentiful. I could go to a different place every day and never run out of places to eat. There was everything from super high end restaurants to mom & pop places. 
Now… I have a Jack in the Box. There’s nothing wrong with that, if that’s what you’re into. Personally, the only times I end up here is during those super late nights when nothing else is open and I want fries and a diet coke (i disgust myself just thinking about this). It’s sinfully good during these moments.
Anyway, I’ve heard muttering about this place around the office since I started. It’s even been pointed out to me that this is a place that I might like – since it should have something I can eat. Finally after 3 months of working here I visited. My boss and I stepped out for lunch on one of those beautiful 75+ degree winter days that only Southern California is blessed with. It was a short walk from the office to this restaurant. 
To be honest, there were quite a few options for me. Tacos, Burritos, Burrito Bowl, Tostada, Tostada Salad, Tortas, Potato Taquitos. Of course being the foodie that I am, I went for the …burrito bowl (womp womp womp!) I know, I know, Don’t judge me. Anyway, the burrito bowl comes with pico de gallo, corn, onion, cilantro, veggies (sauteed onion, bell pepper, and zucchini), lettuce, and guacamole. It was a very nice portion a little salty for my taste (my Russian heritage makes me love my food bland); fortunately, I’m increasing my salt intake for my marathon training. 
I really enjoyed my meal here is my one gripe – I got charged 75 cents for guacamole. I’m not being cheap, I swear! I just think if I’m getting a veggie bowl, guacamole should be included. Also, I don’t get cheese or sour cream. Surely what the restaurant saves in meat, cheese, and sour cream on my meal should = free guacamole.
Thoughts?
Anyway, check this place out. They also serve breakfast, which I fully intend to try at some point.
1359 South Main Street
Los Angeles, California 90015
Leave a Reply

