Nola’s (A taste of new Orleans)

Southern Comfort…
I know nothing about this. The extent of my time in the south, was 1 week in Texas visiting my bestie and a 3 hour layover in Georgia on my way to Buffalo. 
What I do know is that I love kale, mac & cheese, mashed potatoes, beignets.
My previous boss took me here once. I was very hesitant because when I think creole/southern I think butter, meat, seafood. I was pleasantly surprised. 
I decided to bring my  next boss here as his going away lunch and I had my mom come and try it as well. See, I knew that he loved gumbo so I figured it’d be the perfect place. I did, however, know that the pressure was on. I mean, he knew what real Louisiana cuisine is supposed to taste like.
Venue:
This restaurant is located in an industrial area turned residential. It’s a super artsy, hipster, foodie area. There is metered parking, street parking on the residential streets, and valet. Pick your poison. 
The restaurant itself is huge. It boasts high ceilings. There are tables and ottoman type booths. 

Food:

I’ve only been here for lunch. You can order off of the menu or opt for buffet. 
There are salads, sandwiches, burgers (even a veggie burger not sure if it’s vegan though), Pasta (pasta jambalaya as well) and what I would consider traditional southern comfort food sides. 
If you go for the buffet there is red beans, rice, salad, fruit salad, collard greens, mac & cheese, and beignets !!!!
There is a nice happy hour menu as well. The Whiskey cocktail is amazing !
This particular time I had Jambalaya  (veggie style) pictured on the top, my mother had the shrimp jambalaya pictured on the lower left. My current boss got the gumbo, which is pictured on the lower right.
I find their food to be very well seasoned and a very good portion for the price.

Service:
I have to admit, it gets a bit busy and every time I’ve been in here there is 1, I repeat ONE server. She is quite lovely; however, be prepared to wait….and wait… and wait… 
As for the verdict – he loved the gumbo and even said that he might bring his mother to try it. Score !

NOTE: They do have a live band on some nights. There are also other cool restaurants and bars to check out on the same block.
734 E 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90013
(213) 680-3003
Leave a Reply

