The Griddle Cafe

I remember the first time I heard about this place. I was boring everyone with a detailed description of the reasons that I am obsessed with red velvet cupcakes. Quite riveting, I must say.
Anyway, ever since I first came here, I make sure that  I tell every L.A. newbie/tourist/foodie that this is a MUST when in the area. 
Venue:

This is a small venue; however, I will say that it is much larger than it appears from the street view. There is very limited outdoor seating. There is bar seating, booths, tables, and two backrooms with larger booths. This is a very old school place, so be prepared to get cozy with other patrons, because you are bunched up together. This restaurant is very lively and loud. 
There is street parking and a lot around the back.

Food:

The food is amazing ! 
  1.  No portion control. 1 entree feeds about 4 – no seriously it takes me about 3 days to finish.
  2. flavor combinations that you could only imagine.
  3. Get your drink on.
Anyway, I used to come here for the Red Velvet Pancakes, they’re not vegan so I don’t get to indulge anymore. This is the place to indulge your sweet tooth, Black Magic, Chocolate Chip Cookie Crusted French Toast, Sow your Oats, Eyes Wide Open (a coffee lover’s dream) – 1 pancake should me more than enough.
If you want something more hearty I recommend “baked potato” omelette. Tastes like a baked potato.
For my vegans – don’t fret they do have salads, Steel Your Heart Oatmeal (pictured below), Healthy Nutty Granola, Fruit, etc.


Service:

The service here is always on point. This place gets slammed, with a line out the door. The host does an excellent job at maintaining that line organized. The servers know their stuff, their menu, and are quite agile getting around that crowd. The kitchen pushes out orders like – well, hotcakes! Everyone is so friendly and busy. 
This is an overall great experience, and I’m willing to bet that there is something here for everyone.
Hint: follow them on twitter for secret passwords for treats i.e. blueberry mimosas
7916 Sunset Blvd., Hollywood, CA 90046
Leave a Reply

