Dave & Busters

Growing up in L.A. you have everything. This is one of the best places to grow up in. Although, I’d never been to a Wal-Mart, seen a Long John Silver’s, Joe’s Crab Shack, Sonic …. and Dave & Buster’s.
I watch T.V. and see commercials for these places and they look super good – but we don’t have it around. I’ve caught myself saying many times, Why do they play these commercials, when we don’t even have these places here. I mean, don’t progammers take care of things like this?
While there is still no Sonic’s or Long John Silver’s, BUT a Dave & Busters has opened a few minutes from my home. My mother, sister, and I went to check it out:
Venue:

This venue is located in the Howard Hughes shopping center. There is ample parking in the attached parking structure; however, it is $3 flat, payment at entrance, cash only. This is a smaller location than the one in Orange County; but since it’s newer it’s quite nice. I like the layout, the dining area is separated from the bar. The pool tables are conveniently located by the bar area. The games are separated from all of the dining areas and spaced out quite nicely. 
I’ve been here twice so I will number my observations:
1. The dining area is quite small. There are tables and booths along with tons of TV’s. There is a fully stocked bar servicing the dining area. 
2. The bar area is rather big with tons of TV’s  a big bar area with seating all around its perimeter. There are bar-stool type tables filling the area.

Food: 

I ate the same thing both times around. Veggie burger, no cheese, no mayo, ketchup, lettuce, tomato, raw/grilled onions, mustard, and pickles. Substitute the wheat bun for a not-so guilty meal. The sweet potato fries are nicely cooked and seasoned. I am considering getting my burger as a wrap next time around, because it is rather filling. 

Service:
1. We came opening week. The servers were all quite nice. I was even told that Blake Griffin had been in there on opening night – um hello? Blake, where was my invite? Anyway, everything went smoothly and without a hitch. The servers were all happy and joked with us. It was a very pleasant experience.
2. My friend and I came to watch the Lakers game, we had an awful experience. When were first seated the bartender joked about the Lakers, then walked away. We were seated for 20 minutes at the bar and not one of the servers or bartenders acknowledged us. It was not that busy, and the bartenders were off in the corner talking and socializing. I finally yelled across he bar to get his attention and  he looked annoyed by the fact that he had to take our order. Then, it took another 20 minutes for us to get our drinks. By the time we got our food it was already mid 3rd Quarter. Forget any refills or anyone even checking up on us. Even then, we had to wait forever to get the check and get out of there. I’ve had no desire to go back since then. 
6081 Center Dr
Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone number(310) 846-9950
Leave a Reply

