Native Foods

When I had my surgery, I had been seeing a very nice man. He was so kind during that time. He looked past the hideousness that follows such an intense medical procedure. He took me out so that I didn’t hide out in my bedroom. He made me feel normal even though I look atrocious, couldn’t speak, and couldn’t eat. We would go out to restaurants and he would make sure that they had amazing drinks for me. 
He was, or I should say IS, vegetarian. One of the places that he took me to was Native Foods. I had never been there. I watched him eat a burger that looked so delicious. Meanwhile I slurped my agave sweetened watermelon agua fresca. 
Of course, once I was able to eat again, I returned. Now I have to admit this is like a “fast food joint” for me. I can’t have it often, or I’ll just gain a ton of weight, but once in a while it’s nice to fulfill the craving for savory food. 

Venue:

This review will focus on the Culver City location, although I have been to the Westwood location as well. The Culver City location is smack in the middle of downtown Culver City. There is indoor and outdoor seating. Outside there are regular tables and there is also a communal table (this is my favorite style of eating). The venue itself is simple and clean. 
There is street parking nearby, metered parking everywhere, an parking structures nearby. 

Food:

The food is oh so tasty. There are daily specials,which are fun to try. I usually go for their salads (Ensalada Azteca pictured below),  Carribean Jerk and Kale, and Yo Amigo Taco Salad are my favorites. Their produce always tastes fresh and the portions are great. 
If you’re in the mood for something a bit more hearty, I would definitely try the bowls. The Greek Gyro Bowl is very similar to what I remember Gyro tasting like. The Rockin’ Moroccan Bowl is nice and lemony. If you’re still trying to be good try the Sesame Kale Macro Bowl. 
Feeling a bit “bad”? Try the Twister Wrap it is filling, savory, and who doesn’t love a tortilla. You could also try the chili with cornbread. Comfort food.
Sometimes, it’s just so good to be bad. They have desserts. Peanut Butter Parfait, Strawberry Shortcake, try them all !
Now for all my lushes out there – 2 words LAVENDER LEMONADE add some of the fresh mint) if you’re more of a sweet than tangy then the watermelon fresca (with mint) is yummy. 
Service:

I absolutely adore gimmicks. All the employees here wear vegan inspired T-shirts. They are all very young and friendly. The staff is very attentive. I’ve never had a bad experience. 
Leave a Reply

