Belwood Bakery Cafe

Lately, I’ve been a slacker when it comes to my running. For some reason the determination and excitement that I once had to get up at 5:00 a.m. and work out every single day has been dwindling.

I think that a lot of it has to do with the fact that I’ve faced several obstacles this past summer that have interfered with my training. I’ve been trying to get my weight under control, which means limiting the number of times that I eat out (among other things). I allow myself to splurge on Tuesday and Thursday mornings. I figure that since I train on those mornings, I am allowed to stop by somewhere and get an over priced smoothie, juice, or in this case, breakfast sandwich.

Starbucks is across from this cafe, but I wanted something more decadent than an iced coffee and oatmeal (the only thing that I can really eat from there)

So I wandered into this cafe not knowing what to expect.

 

Food:

They have an array of pastries, but no bagels. From what I saw everything appeared to be none vegan. They have plenty of breakfast sandwiches for you vegetarians and omnivores.

The mixed green salad is vegan friendly. There is also a veggie burger; however, I’m not sure if the patty is vegan friendly.

As far as breakfast go, I ordered the Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwich on whole wheat french bread.

PB&J.JPG
PB&J on whole wheat French bread

I find that PB&J sandwiches can be rather tricky. This sandwich had the perfect type of bread. I drove 30 minutes to work and it did not get soggy. It also was not so hard that I had to take a knife to it. This sandwich should be divided into two. I had a 7 mile trail run, so I ended up eating the whole thing. It had just the right combination of peanut butter and strawberry jelly. I would definitely get this again on days that I want something more than a smoothie.

aulait.JPG
Cafe au lait

I also ordered a cafe au lait with a splash of almond milk. I love it when a place has almond milk

Venue:

This is a small cafe. I believe there is one table inside and there is limited outside seating. There is metered parking in front.

The cafe is clean, but could use some aesthetic updating.

Service:

Given how busy it was, the line moved so quickly. There is sufficient staff and they know what they’re doing. Even though things were getting done quickly, I did not feel rushed while ordering.

Do you have a regular place to grab an on the go breakfast?

Leave a Reply

