Fresh in the Box

J and I were watching the clippers playoff game last season. We were hungry, but we didn’t want to miss a single moment of the game. We decided to do a Yelp! and find something. We came across Fresh-In-The-Box . I loved it. It’s one of those places that I suggest and people look at me like such a ditz. If you’re from California you understand this.

For you non-Californians, Fresh-In-The-Box is a play on the fast food chain Jack-in-the-Box

S and I went on this 8 mile hike on a scorching hot summer day. We were famished by the end of that hike, so we decided that cooking was not the best idea since we were looking more for instant gratification. S wanted a burger and I… well…. I didn’t. Luckily Fresh In the Box was right next to the burger joint that he wanted to go to.

I am not kidding, when I say that every time I say “Let’s go to fresh in the box!” S says “What is that?” I have probably explained it 40 times; still, it’s always the exact same conversation.

Venue:

This is a small restaurant located in a shopping center on Washington Blvd. in Los Angeles. There is a small parking  lot for the entire shopping center and street parking on Washington.

Admittedly, I have never eaten here. Every single time that I have been here I order take out. The restaurant has indoor seating as well as a couple of outdoor tables. It’s spacious and clean. There is a TV on the wall. It’s a casual and quite ambiance.

Food:

Obviously, this is what keeps me coming back. First, my take out is always perfectly packaged. Nothing ever spills, which happens when you get soup take out. On this day though I decided to get a Calorie-Mate Box. You get a choice of an entrée, salad and rice (brown/white)

CalorieMateBox.JPG
Calorie-Mate Box

I decided to get the Teriyaki Organic Vegetables

TeriyakiOrgVeg.JPG
Teriyaki Organic Vegetables

Tofu Salad

TofuSalad.JPG
Tofu Salad

…and brown rice

TeriyakiOrgVeg.JPG
Teriyaki Organic Tofu on a bed of Brown Rice

 

as you can see it’s packed in a “box” that’s perfectly sectioned. This is HUGE. Ever since I was a baby, I’ve had this insane obsession with separating my food. I absolutely hate my food touching. Even more, I hate my cold food touching my hot food. I don’t like my salad drenched in dressing or my food drowned in sauce. (I’m not picky at all right?) So, this box is perfect.

The veggies were crunchy and they looked fresh. The rice had a nice texture and was cooked just right. The tofu salad was also fresh and light. It doesn’t look like much food. In fact, I was even worried that I wouldn’t get full. It was enough.

Service:

They are always friendly on the phone. I’ve never been placed on hold for  ages. the employees are always friendly. Most importantly my food is ready, when they say it will be ready. They package it perfectly and always give you utensils and napkins. More people need to know about this place because it is definitely a hidden gem.

Do you have any hidden gems recommendations?

Leave a Reply

