Kogi BBQ Truck

TGIF !

Specifically TGI FIRST FRIDAYS. Every month Abbot Kinney is invaded by food trucks, beach bums, hipsters, and ME ! Trucks line Abbot Kinney and people flood the streets eating, talking, dancing, shopping, It’s always a fun time, whether it’s date night or a group of friends.

This past month I went with S and my new friend and sister C. S’s new roommate T also came with us. We ended up at the Brigg in Venice, since it was rather late. I saw the Kogi truck and decided on that, since I hadn’t had it in a while.

Korean BBQ is something that I used to indulge in; however, it’s been years since I’ve been to a Korean BBQ place since most don’t offer much from me to choose from. Kogi is different. They have a couple options from me and they all taste amazing !

They offer:

  1. tofu tacos $2.29;
  2. Tofu Burritos $6;

I know, it might seem a bit pricey, but they serve great portions. One taco is filling and a burrito is enough to split between two. I had a taco this time. The flavor of the tofu marinade is amazing. It’s so flavorful an citrus-y. In their own words:

Kogi.JPG
Tofu Taco

 

We give our tofu an extra long soak in some chillies, garlic and citrus before having it char just a while longer on the grill and then we top that with our salsa verde. It’s the kind of vegetarian taco that even carnivores would drool over.

They are definitely worth tracking- so follow them and try out their food. Schedule.

Let me know what you think.

 

Leave a Reply

