Sage Vegan Bistro

Sage was the first vegan restaurant that I fell in love with. This is the kind of vegan cuisine that you can eat and you won’t feel like you’re eating vegan.

Do you know what I mean?

You know when you go to those restaurants and your food feels like rubber but tastes like cardboard? This is not that place.

Venue:

The Culver City location is very nice. It’s in a brand new shopping center. I would like to say that there’s plenty of parking available; however, I’m finding that it’s getting more difficult to find a spot. There is a private car park, valet, and some street parking. There is also bicycle parking.

The restaurant itself has indoor seating, outdoor seating, and bar seating. Outside there are communal tables for those social vegans. It’s a very industrial style building with high ceilings and floor to ceiling windows.

Food:

I had been craving sushi (past pescatarian). I went in thinking that I was going to have the steak dinner or a salad, instead I noticed the Raw Cold Kelp Noodle Bowl. At first glance it sounds like an awful flavorless dish; however, as you can see, it’s more like deconstructed sushi.

soy ginger lime avocado dressing topped with lime, shredded carrots, cabbage and basil, sesame seed and crispy onion. I added tofu

How beautiful does my bowl look? I love having a ton of colors on my plate. It makes me want to just eat it all up. One of my favorite things about sage is how fresh everything is.

Service:

This is based on several experiences that I’ve had there. The staff is very helpful and very health conscious. Not only does the menu warn about allergens, but the staff is always extra cautious about nut and/or soy allergies. Also, I ate here once with a friend who is allergic to nuts and soy, and the manager had the kitchen make an off-menu dish for her and ever brought it out herself to make sure that everything was ok.

Have you gone to Sage?

Leave a Reply

