Sky’s Gourmet Tacos 

Apparently, this is Mexican cuisine month

I’ve been craving California Mexican food. I’m sure a lot of it has to do with the fact that I love avocado and I love beans. Long before S and I were the most amazing couple in the world, I dated a very nice guy. He always went out of his way to find really cool places to take me. One of the places that he found was Sky’s Gourmet Tacos. We wandered into this place 30 minutes before closing and left right at closing. The food experience was outstanding, and I’ve been coming back ever since.

REVIEW

VENUE

This is a very nice “hole-in-the wall” place. I cannot count the number of times that I have driven past this restaurant. You walk up and order and then take a seat. There are several tables inside and I believe two tables outside. I like to sit outside, because it’s not as warm and you get fresh air.

There is nothing fancy about this venue. It is, simply put, good food.

FOOD

Originally I came for the vegan tacos; however, since then I’ve had the vegan nachos, vegan burrito, and vegan quesadilla. All are delicious. On this day in particular I ordered a vegan “burrito”. Why the quotations? Well, this is unlike any other burrito I’ve ever had. First, it’s an open face burrito – or in my words a giant taco. It comes with shredded cabbage, potato, salsa verde, “cheese” and pico de gallo. I added avocado slices and vegan sour cream. Yes, I was being a chubbs. Notice that there are no rice or beans in this burrito. Still, it is filling and the burrito is saturated with flavor. It is so filling, that usually I will leave 75% of the tortilla and just eat the filling.

SERVICE

For the most part service is very good. I have eaten here a few times, but usually order take out. There was one time, that we paid for Guacamole and drove all the way home to find that there was no guacamole. We called and were told that they would give us a credit, since we didn’t want to drive 20 minutes there to pick up some guacamole. When we came back next time, they had no note of our free guacamole, which was rather annoying. Aside from this mishap, I’ve only had good experiences.

Who has the best vegan tacos in L.A.?

Leave a Reply

